The Battalion Blog
Coleraine & District Battalion

BB Annual 5-a-side Football

During the festive period twenty eight teams representing thirteen Boys’ Brigade Companies of Coleraine and District Battalion descended on the University of Ulster Sports Complex for their annual 5-a-side football competition. The event was organised by Ivan Morrison (Battalion Recreation Convener) and Martin McCook (Tournament Official). Robert Black, a former BB officer in the Battalion, officiated as referee.

Junior WinnersSenior Winners
Junior 5-a-side winners 1st Coleraine Company, included are Martin McCook (Tournament Organiser), Robert Black (Referee) and Rev. Trevor McCormick (Battalion President).Senior 5-a-side winners 1st Garvagh Company, included are John McFadden (Company Captain), Robert Black (Referee) and Rev. Trevor McCormick (Battalion President).

Junior Tournament

Sixteen teams competed in the Junior Competition (under 14). There were notable performances by 1st Kilrea (4-0) and 1st Garvagh ‘A’ (3-0 and 4-1) in the early group games and it was these two teams along with 2nd Coleraine and 1st Coleraine ‘A’ who progressed to the semi-finals. Garvagh just saw off a spirited Kilrea side 1-0 in a very tight first semi-final. 1st Coleraine were more convincing, dispatching 2nd Coleraine 2-0 in the other game. 1st Coleraine came away deserved victors in a very closely contested final, the teams finally being separated 3-2 by sudden death penalties.

Senior Tournament

The Senior Competition (14-18 year olds) saw eleven teams compete. 5th Coleraine showed most potential early on with 3-0, and 5-0 wins. 2nd Limavady, 2nd Coleraine and 1st Garvagh all progressed to the semi-final stage unbeaten from their respective groups with 5th Coleraine filling the other spot. Both semi-finals were one sided affairs with 2nd Coleraine defeating 5th Coleraine 4-1 and 1st Garvagh scoring five without reply from 2nd Limavady. As was expected, the final was a much closer affair with one goal separating the sides at the end, Garvagh emerging as winners 1-0.

Labels: , ,